(843) 345-6074

Entertainment, Shopping & Restaurants in Charleston, SC

The 4,210,000 tourists that visit Charleston area each year come for several reasons.  The ambiance of our historical city, friendly people, beautiful scenery, amenities, spectator sports, shopping, world-class restaurants…are just a few reasons why the Lowcountry area is so popular. 

The large tourist volume helps sustain such amazing cultural and recreational amenities which aren’t found in cities with similar populations.  From the world-class symphony orchestra to the Gibbes Museum of Art to college sports to the historical homes tours, there is always something to do.  And, when you live here, you’ll be able to enjoy and take advantage all that Charleston offers….

Almost every weekend there is a different event or activity taking place in the area. Below please find a list of a few of my favorite events as well as lists of shopping venues and restaurants:

GENERAL ENTERTAINMENT
South Carolina Aquarium http://www.scaquarium.org/
Upcoming Charleston Events  http://www.charlestoncvb.com/visitors/events.html

MUSEUMS
Charleston Museum http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=1
Gibbes Museum http://www.gibbesmuseum.org/
Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum http://www.patriotspoint.org/

PERFORMING ARTS
Charleston Symphony Orchestra www.charlestonsymphony.com
Charleston Ballet Theater www.charlestonballet.com/
Charleston Stage http://www.charlestonstage.com/
Footlight Players http://www.footlightplayers.net/

FESTIVALS & YEARLY EVENTS
Spoleto Festival http://www.spoletousa.org/
Piccolo Spoleto Festival www.piccolospoleto.com
Annual House and Garden Candlelight Tour  www.preservationsociety.org
Cooper River Bridge Run  www.bridgerun.com
Flowertown Festival http://www.summervilleymca.org/flowertown/
Food and Wine Festival  http://www.charlestonfoodandwine.com/
Southeastern Wildlife Exposition http://www.sewe.com/

PROFESSIONAL SPORTS
Charleston Battery Soccer http://www.charlestonbattery.com/welcome.asp
Charleston Riverdogs Baseball (Minor League) http://www.riverdogs.com/
Family Circle Cup Women’s Pro Tennis http://www.familycirclecup.com/
SC Stingrays Hockey http://www.stingrayshockey.com/

COLLEGE SPORTS
The Citadel  http://www.citadelsports.com/
College of Charleston  http://www.cofcsports.com/
Charleston Southern University  http://csusports.athleticsite.com/

SHOPPING CENTERS/MALLS
Citadel Mall www.citadelmall.net
Mount Pleasant Towne Centre http://www.mtpleasanttownecentre.com/
Northwoods Mall http://www.shopnorthwoodsmall.com/shop/northwoods.nsf/index
Best of Charleston: Favorite Shops of Locals (click on Shops & Wares) http://www.bestofcharleston.net/
Bookstores http://www.insiderpages.com/s/SC/Charleston/BookStores

RESTAURANTS
Downtown Charleston
  82 Queen http://www.82queen.com/
  Blossom http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
  Charleston Boat House http://www.boathouserestaurants.com
  Circa 1886 http://www.circa1886.com/
  Cypress http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
  Magnolia’s http://www.magnolias-blossom-cypress.com/
  McGradys http://www.restaurant.com/microsite.asp?rid=301266
  Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingers.net/

 Mount Pleasant
  Red Drum http://www.reddrumpub.com/
  Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingers.net/
  T-Bonz http://www.tbonz.com/
  Vickerys http://www.vickerysbarandgrill.com/

 Isle of Palms
  Boathouse  http://www.boathouserestaurants.com                                                                    Coconut Joes  www.coconutjoes.biz

 Sullivan’s Island
  Poe’s Tavern www.poestavern.com
  Sullivans Restaurant http://sullivansrestaurant.com/

 Summerville
  Red Pepper www.theredpepper.com
  Sticky Fingers http://www.stickyfingersonline.com
  Woodlands Dining Room www.woodlandsinn.com 

Also, please visit:  http://www.bestofcharleston.net and click on "Eating" to see the favorite restaurants of the locals.

 

 

css.php